Happy New Year Everyone 2012!

My Experience working on the feature documentary about the march:  Mic Check: Inside the nycmarch2dc/occupy the highway

Log Line (20 words max):

A chronicle of the first long distance march in the Occupy Movement shown through the multiple perspectives of the marchers.

Synopsis (50 words max):

On November 9, 2011 twenty-two OWS protestors left Zuccotti Park on a 230mile march to Washington, DC.

Mic Check is about a community formed by circumstance and reveals the camaraderie and struggle of group dynamics and decision-making through individual perspectives about the march, occupy, and why we need a revolution.

I hope everyone had a joyous New Year! Even though I was in NYC I missed the amazingness of New Year’s Eve at Zuccotti because I was editing all night. Editing what you ask? Only the feature documentary film about this very march! I want to update you all (or anyone still reading this) that I did finish the film and, as well as being supportive, Mike Machado made two amazing recordings for it as well as a few other musicians. I submitted the film earlier today to the Tribeca Film Festival, but I’m a little worried of the success of them taking it. Generally, I’m pretty proud of the film, but there are at least 6 (maybe a few more) errors (including misspelled title cards) that I really wanted to fix. I literally ran out time. I mean, I’ve only had the last month to edit and two people, one a filmmaker, signed on to help edit and log, but both of them flaked out so it was just me. What’s worse three weeks ago I got really sick with strep throat and an eye infection and lost five days of editing since I could barely breathe and swallow, and kept getting fevers and cold sweats (and no this is not menopause).

I am fully recovered now, besides being just plain exhausted, and I will continue. I went to Boston for three days (got back yesterday at 2am) to finish the film and compress it on a bigger machine since I had been doing all of the editing from my mac book pro, so I went to my former college, Massachusetts College of Art and Design and one of my old professors gave me a lot of help with the compression since the video is so big (we’re talking 127+gigs here in one compression). I noticed these errors and fixed them, due to a series of circumstances, I had to leave Boston before the second version had finished compressing. Down to the wire. Friday was the deadline and I started compressing the second version at 2:30am. My laptop managed to compress this first round, but got stuck on the second. I then sought out a friend with a pretty good machine for this second compression and then third compression/burning, but, wo is me, there was not enough time-the video still had three hours to go at 4pm and I had to make it to the Tribeca Film Festival office by 6pm.

Alas, I submitted the back ups because, personally, it was my goal, and also I wanted to make the attempt at least to get the film out to a broader audience that may have a lot of misconceptions about occupy and the march or may not have heard of the march, etc.

So…I have to wait to find out if the film, which I decided to call Mic Check: Inside the nycmarch2dc/occupy the highway (in which I actually forgot the word ‘the’ in the title card-these things happen when you haven’t slept more than ten hours in four days) and if it miraculously gets in the festival or they give me an opportunity to fix a few things and give them another disk, I cannot widely distribute the documentary until after the festival in April. If they don’t accept it then I will be putting it up everywhere I can find for people to request. The distribution process is still an ongoing discussion so if anyone has any ideas please let me know. I’m broke so I would at least need to charge money for the dvd’s and shipping.

I apologize for rambling and I also want to personally apologize to citizen because I accidentally cut two great scenes with him during my sleep deprived moments. I still have yet to sleep since my two hour nap from 7am-9am, and the 20 hour editing days I’ve been pulling off for the last two weeks (well maybe 20 hours for the last week and more like 12-18 hours for the two weeks before that);  and even though I was scared I made myself watch Mic Check from beginning to end tonight (this was the first time I was able to watch it all the way through because there was never an opportunity for m to take 2 hours ((the film is two hours)) to watch it since I was literally working on it the entire time) and I know this is the worse mistake to make; I watched it all in sections and saw how they connected and worked with the footage so much I  basically memorized everything, however, I was still missing that critical step, though it was fun to sit back and watch and not stop every ten minutes into it to edit. Overall, I’m happy with it and I think it’s powerful, moving, and honest. When I figure out how to get it to the marchers and supporters I hope you all will be too. I, of course, would be sending the cleaner version.

Occupy. March. Make Films. Its time we own our media.

kelley

20 responses to “Happy New Year Everyone 2012!

  • thaibonnie

    hey kelley…congratulations on this accomplishment. i have been fascinated by all the creativity, energy and commitment to all the “occupy’s”…i followed the occupythehighway and became friends with garth….i hope he is in your film…unsure if i met you, however, i did meet your group of travelers at the rhodes island metro station back in nov. you all were cold and wet…but appeared happy as shit! i brought you all a bunch of food and drinks, which was my small gesture to support your all monumental walk …stay connected and commited….thanks for what you have done and are doing…take good care :) bonnie

  • Lori Nelson

    Thanks for doing this! If you post the info–where and when and how much to send, I would be delighted to pay for a copy, and mailing costs, of the film.

  • Barbara Rathmann

    Kelley, I congratulate you for putting so much time and energy into this project. It is difficult to take on a project of this magnitude especially by yourself. I wish you much luck with the Tribeca submission. I’m sure you will keep us posted. I would love to have or see a copy at some point, so please let us know what’s happening. In the meantime, get some rest and take care of yourself. Thanks again.

  • Maryl Danks (@MarylDanks)

    Congratulations Kelly! I can’t wait to see your work! I caught up with you guys on the hwy in MD. I was happy to supply a green peace flag which I have happily noticed in many of the pictures along the way. I quickly gave out hand warmers and granola bars before I wished you all well. I continue to be proud to have met such dedicated group of patriots. Keep up the good work and remember there are many of us cheering you on even if you cannot always hear us.

  • mary calzada OHouston

    THANK YOU for all your awesome work ! hope you stay well !!

  • Ann

    Glad you could put a film together Kelly! Please let us know when we can see it!

  • Rose Marie

    THANK YOU OCCUPIERS. WE AM WITH YOU, IN SPIRIT, EVERY HOUR OF EVERY DAY.

  • BIGBRO.NONO2011

    Are you selling copies of your movie. If so, contact me with a price and delivery timetable. Glad we met in Ohio on your way back to NYC. Good Luck Keyy.
    Mick Bartus, Toledo (U have my email addy)

  • BIGBRO.NONO2011

    So sorry Kelly, Bad editing :)

  • Patsy Messier

    Hi Kelley, Thanks so much for your hard, hard work and I sincerely hope I have to wait til April to see it. I followed you guys every day and so glad you made it. What an accomplishment and personal life lessons all along the way !!!
    Love from Maine.

  • Nydia

    Yea! Thank you so much for all your work, on the trip and the film. I was only able to march with you for one day but it was an amazing experience and I can’t wait to watch the film. Keep us posted on any way we can help with distribution and support. :)

  • Mical

    Hey Kelley – Sarah & Garth were arrested yesterday in Charlotte & the Walkupy site is down. Do you have phone numbers for any of the other marchers? This is Mical – I walked with you one AM from the cute little Quaker town in PA & saw you again D17. Thanks! Micalmoser@me.com

  • thaibonnie

    @mical, are garth & sara OK? after i read your post above, i text’d him, but did not hear back, and he was always real quick with replies. i became friends with him during ‘occupythehwy’ . i would like to be able to help, if he needs something, and if i can….can you please let me know. i am planning on being in D.C. on the 17th….i truly hope he is not occupying the inside :(
    again, if anyone knows anything, please let me know…i am happy to help :)
    443.867.6871 cell (best for texting)
    410.544.8726 home (best for talking)

    • nycmarch2dcnyc2dcmarch

      I’ve been in touch with Garth, Sarah, and Bo on and off for the past month-since they left DC really. Actually their march to Atlanta makes a cameo in the film…spoiler alert (ha ha). Garth said they were okay and haven’t experienced police brutality-they’ve had some articles written about them lately and are assuming the cops are on alert because of this publicity.

      They’re doing their march to Atlanta hard core-I mean they’ve been sleeping in abandoned houses, camping in deserted woods, etc. I’m not sure when they’re going to reach Atlanta, but you can follow them at: walkupy.org for all the recent updates. They are quite diligent about putting up daily recaps.

      And for everyone who has shown support for the Atlanta march, the DC march, and, personally, the documentary, thank you, thank you, thank you. None of this would be possible without this amazing community of people coming together for the greater good. I will have more info about the doc coming very soon. If any of you are in the NYC area I am screening it for the first time this Tuesday night (1/17- also the 4 month anniversary of OWS) at the Bodega Wine Bar in Brooklyn at 8pm. For those of you further away-I will be setting something up very soon. Thanks again for your support. It means so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      -k

  • Bill

    Update: Sarah and Garth are being held @ FCI Butner federal prison, and are both under suicide watch. Prayers, please, people.

    • Barbara Rathmann

      Wait a minute. I haven’t followed this everyday but I thought I read just a few days ago that they were released. And I think I even saw something that Sarah posted today (Jan 12). What’s the story please?? Praying for all of them all the time.

      • Lori Nelson

        I also saw a picture of them released–and tweets to that effect from the Walkupy account. Praying for them anyway, as the charges have not been dropped, as yet.

  • Bill

    Update 2, Jan. 15, 1:50 EST: My uncle, a DOC officer @ Butner federal prison, just texted me that Garth has been re-arrested and is currently in a holding cell pending new charges of assaulting a police officer with a pipe. No word on Sarah. Bummer.

    • thaibonnie

      i just rec’d a text from garth on jan 12th at 6:33pm that said he was locked up 3 days and released (for standing on a sidewalk), which was the arrest that was posted before……i assume then, he was re-arrested sometime yesterday…he does not seem the type to assault anyone…i am fond of him…can you keep me updated, please……this is distressing to hear…and yes…bummer :(
      thanks bill :)
      Bonnie

  • thaibonnie

    hi! all….particularly those worried about Garth and company…he just text’d me and said he is NOT arrested…they were found sleeping in an abandoned building …OccupyGreenville is getting them a hotel. this message was rec’d sat 1/14/12 at 6:05pm…so very up-to-date. he appreciates the care and concern. All is good!!….Love and Light, Bonnie :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 307 other followers

